Is the keeper allowed to kick the ball off an opposing player’s stick (kicker-stick contact)? Is the keeper allowed to hit the ball off another player’s stick with his/her goalie stick?


Any contact by a keeper, whether kicker or stick must be to the ball first. If after contacting the ball, the keeper’s kicker or stick contacts the opposing player’s stick then the play should be legal. However, if the umpire deems that the keeper contacted the opponent’s stick first and then got ball the penalty is either a corner or possibly a stroke. Unfortunately, umpires often make this call based on sound (especially with stick tackles) as they are usually positioned on the endline behind the keeper in an attempt to stay ahead of the play. This can leave the umpire with an obstructed view of the play. If you’ve made a tackle where you feel you’ve got ball first and the call has gone against you, the best you can do is ask the umpire to ask for help from their partner.

good luck,


4 thoughts on “Contact”

  1. There is no rule that says everything is OK as long as you play the ball first. It’s a myth that originated in football (soccer) and even there it’s not a rule.

    The FIH rules of hockey state:

    9.3 Players must not touch, handle or interfere with other players or their sticks or clothing.
    9.13 Players must not tackle unless in a position to play the ball without body contact.
    Tackle: An action to stop an opponent retaining possession of the ball.
    So you are allowed to touch an attacker’s stick while tackling, as long as you don’t interfere with it. (This is quite a challenge…)

    You are allowed to put you foot, stick or any other part of your equipment/body in the way of the ball, the attacker then has to find a way around. If you time this right then you will stop the ball while the attacker continues moving, thus you gain control of the ball. If an opponent runs into you while you are stationary the you should get a FHD.

    GK’s get a lot of leniency with regard to the quoted rules, so you get away with a lot. However you should be very careful when crossing the line as you never now how the umpire is going to call it.

  2. The quote didn’t work as I planned.
    This part shouldn’t have been in quotes:

    So you are allowed to touch an attacker’s stick while tackling, as long as you don’t interfere with it. (This is quite a challenge…)

    (@Admin: maybe a preview button to see how your comment is going to look… 😉 )

  3. I supose the logic behind the “as long as you get the ball first” rule is that if you play the ball and take it away from the attacker then it could be interperated that he’s interfering with you.

  4. The question asked about kicking the ball off an opponent’s stick (“kicker-stick contact”) which to me means the ball is “on” the stick. My answer was based on that criteria. If a keeper kicks a ball off an opponent’s stick without contacting the ball first when the ball is on the opponent’s stick, the call will go against the keeper. If the ball is off the opponent’s stick then the goalkeeper has every right to play it before the opponent, but that wasn’t the stated question.

Leave a Reply