Whistles and strokes

Hey everyone–

I’m both a veteran keeper and an official.  I’ve got a question about your experiences with penalty strokes.

FIH rule 13.7 reads:

g.  the whistle is blown when the player taking the stroke and the player defending it are in position

h.  the player taking the stroke must not take it until the whistle has been blown

Over the course of the past few years I’ve noticed a trend where once both players are in place, the stroker is allowed to take the stroke at any time– no whistle.

This has happened frequently enough that I’ve started asking game, tournament and event organizers to clarify the stroke procedures with me (and other officials) prior to play.  I’ve never seen a modification to the FIH rules for any tournament, event or game that modifies this part of the stroke procedure and yet it seems to be a common misconception.  As an official, I make sure to handle the stroke properly but as a keeper, I’m obviously limited in what I can do in a game. I’ve asked my captain to ask officials and we’ve even appealed a goal called in the situation but it just stinks not to be able to focus on the stroke alone.

Does anyone have similar experiences, can you point me towards some explanation of this trend– am I missing some publication?–, or thoughts on how best to handle it?


3 thoughts on “Whistles and strokes”

  1. Hi

    I have been given a few strokes in my short time of goalkeeping (last 6 years). The only problem I have had was when I asked the Referee what it was for he said “I don’t know, the umpire down the other end called it”.

    Referees from where I come from will ‘ask us if we are ready and then either blow the whistle or say go whenever’

  2. As the quoted rules say, the stroke may not be taken before the whistle. I’m not sure why the umps don’t follow the rules, but it is definitely something you can point out to them.

    As for the asking if everybody is ready, that is an old rule. It is “decent” to do so, but definitely not necessary.
    It has been abused to delay the taking and get the opponent out of his concentration. The rules now also state that the taking of the stroke may not be delayed.

    The proper procedure is: Umps get into position, players get into position, whistle, stroke, outcome (either retake, goal or free hit).

  3. Folmer’s reply is exactly correct. As far as the umpire is ‘satisfied’ that both the goalkeeper and the striker are ready, he/she can blow the whistle. One of the reasons of not asking the players if they are ready is that in international match, players who are speaking other languages may not know you are asking him/her!

Leave a Reply